A yearly salary of less than 1 billion, and the number one Cy Young Award…The Great Rebellion of the 159km Lefty Young Guns

This year, a player making less than $1 billion a year could win the Cy Young Award.

MLB.com, the official website of Major League Baseball, on Sunday released the results of a virtual voting poll of experts for the 2023 Cy Young Award.

In the American League, Tampa Bay Rays left-hander Shane McClanahan, 26, was the top vote-getter. He received 29 first-place votes.

McClanahan picked up his ninth win of the season on April 6 against the visiting Boston Red Sox, allowing one run on five hits with two walks and five strikeouts in six innings. He used a mix of pitches, including a four-seam fastball that topped out at 98.6 mph (159 km/h), a slider, curveball and changeup to hold Boston to one run. If not for a solo home run off Justin Turner in the bottom of the sixth, he could have thrown a no-hitter.

McClanahan, who has started all 13 games this year and is an impressive 9-1 with a 2.02 ERA in 75⅔ innings pitched, is now one of the best left-handers in the game, leading the American League in both ERA and wins.

McClanahan made his major league 토토사이트 debut in 2021 with Tampa Bay, going 10-6 with a 3.43 ERA in 123 innings pitched, and last year he “leveled up” to a 12-8 record with a 2.54 ERA in 166 innings pitched.

McClanahan’s salary this year is only $737,000 (about $963.3 million). That’s less than $1 billion in Korean won, and he still wants to be the best in the league.

After McClanahan, the Texas Rangers’ Nathan Eovaldi is second, the New York Yankees’ Gerrit Cole is third, the Houston Astros’ Frazier Valdez is fourth, and the Minnesota Twins’ Sonny Gray is fifth, while in the National League, the Arizona Diamondbacks’ Zach Gallon is first and the Atlanta Braves’ Spencer Strider is second, Marcus Stroman of the Chicago Cubs in third, Mitch Keller of the Pittsburgh Pirates in fourth, and Logan Webb of the San Francisco Giants in fifth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *